Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Theodore Roosevelt Dalton Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 81 D17
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1933-1978, of Ted Dalton, Virginia state senator, 1944-1959; Republican candidate for governor of Virginia in 1953 and 1957; and U.S. District judge for the Western district of Virginia. Includes correspondence, speeches, news clippings, photographs, recordings, reels of film and legal opinions. Subjects covered include Republican Party politics, the Virginia General Assembly, highways,compulsory automobile insurance, segregation, the Gray Commission Report (Commission on...
Dates:
1933-1978; Majority of material found in 1952-1959
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Governors Conference Records and Exhibit
Collection
Identifier: UA 110
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials relating to the Governor's Conference held in Williamsburg in 1957 and William & Mary's exhibit of governors' portraits, which was held in Phi Beta Kappa Hall. The collection includes photographs, programs, notes on governors, correspondence and promotional material.
Dates:
1957
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carter Lowance Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 L95
Scope and Contents
The personal and professional papers of Carter Lowance, executive assistant to six governors of Virginia: William M. Tuck, John S. Battle, Thomas B. Stanley, J. Lindsay Almond, Albertis S. Harrison and Mills Edwin Godwin. Papers also concern Harry F. Byrd, Sr. and Harry F. Byrd, Jr., and John N. Dalton. There are speeches, papers relating to Lowance's military career (including correspondence with his wife, Elizabeth Austin Lowance), awards received by Lowance, photographs, and papers...
Dates:
1860-1993; Majority of material found in 1942-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center